Always Save Your Music! Learn From My Mistake!

Hey guys!

Wanted to post a very personal and very heartbreaking warning here, especially for new producers:

ALWAYS save your music in a minimum of three different places. Use external hard drives, USB sticks, another computer; basically anything that can save files from your computer. I recently had to update my computer from Windows 7 to Windows 8 (long story short, I couldn’t get internet and my computer was VERY slow) and didn’t save my files to an external hard drive. Even though it said it would save my personal files, it did NOT save my most personal files: my FL Studio projects.

Within a few minutes of downloading Windows 8, YEARS of my personal time spent making music vanished into thin air. I had recently created a song that my friend sang on and was extremely excited to show to you guys, my followers, how I created the synths and riffs I used in the song. Unfortunately, this is as finished as the song will ever be.

Here is the song in its entirety. I was originally going to remix the song and mix the vocals in, but unfortunately the file is lost and will be redone from scratch.

Here is another recent project I was working on. It was going to be a really dark psytrance track, and I was going to show you guys how to make that too, but that file is also gone as well.

I will be rebuilding my computer and music from the bottom up, which is kind of refreshing, in a weird way. I haven’t lost the skill set I need to make music, and very soon I will have the necessary tools to redo these tracks.

But, once again, I stress:

SAVE YOUR MUSIC!

Cheers!

About Brad Bator

From Western Massachusetts, USA. I have been producing trance and electronic music for three years and want to help others that want to learn about music production.
This entry was posted in Random Blurbs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Always Save Your Music! Learn From My Mistake!

  1. brett rossi says:

    Am I allowed to post this on my twitter?

    Like

Liked the article or want to contribute to the discussion? Write here...